Ann Blanton Let's talk health, fitness, nutrition and everything in between

A little about me

Posted on: July 1, 2012

Hello fellow enthusiasts, welcome to the first entry of my blog. My name is Ann Blanton and I’m a writer of nonfiction. I also enjoy exploring the wonderful world of fiction, but my first love is based on facts. I dedicate the majority of my time writing on topics that I’m most passionate about. Those subjects focus on physical fitness, nutrition, health and everything else in between.

I’ve been putting pen to paper for as long as I can remember. I enjoy reading a good book as much as I love writing-well almost. My reading preferences are magazines-fitness and nutrition of course, most books and labels. And no, I don’t mean clothing labels. Yeah, I guess maybe I do, but in this for instance, I’m referring to ingredient labels.  OK, so maybe that sounds weird, but isn’t reading clothing labels strange too? If I didn’t read descriptions on boxes, cans, bags, containers, etc., how would I possibly know nutritional facts, calories and other useful information to encourage healthy eating habits?

From the age of twelve, exercise has always been a huge factor in my life. My favorite class all throughout school was P.E. Participating was not only fun, it revved up my metabolism, kept me toned and conditioned and continuously kept me motivated.

I’ve devoted thirty years of my life helping others promote good health habits into their lifestyle. I’m not only a writers, I’m also a wellness coach, teacher and motivator and I’ve designed many successful programs for individuals who are serious about living healthy lives.

Being the fanatic that I am, my all time favorite reality show is The Biggest Loser. I never imagined it could be possible, for contestants from all around the globe to lose weight, get healthy, learn about good nutrition, plus get beneficial results in such a short period of time. Trainers like Jillian Michael’s, Bob Harper and Dolvett Quince, says it all; the transformations are astounding! Are you a fan? If so, tell me why you love the show.

As an additional bonus for including exercise and proper nutrition, my healthy lifestyle has reflected a good example on my husband and my son. It’s also a habit I plan to pass on to my new grandson.

In 2010, I graduated from The Long Ridge Writers Group and was nominated one of the most persistent writers for sending out 123 queries in a single year. I’ve taken a freelance writers course at Penn Foster and graduated with high honors. Currently, I’m a student at The Winghill Writing Academy.  I plan to further my abilities and continue to thrive as a successful writer.

Finding a reliable critique partner that you can depend on, is very important if you’re a writer or if you’re thinking about becoming one. Why? Because I said so. I’m joking. Whoever you choose as your buddy, they should be as committed to their profession as you are. Two years ago after putting an ad in a newsletter, my writing pal found me. She emailed me, we hit it off immediately and we’ve been buddies ever since. I honestly don’t know what I would do without her. Donna, my friend, if you’re reading this, as I know that you are, thank you for all that you’ve done to help me succeed as a writer. I also appreciate you’re encouragement convincing me to finally start a blog. You Rock! By the way, your check is in the mail. Kidding!

Stop by often and I will answer all of your comments.  I’ll be posting at least twice a week, maybe more if I don’t have any deadlines pressing.

So what do you do to keep fit?

I’ve had many articles published at Fitness Plus Magazine. Here’s the link to view them if you want to check them out. http://fitplusmag.com/magazine/author/annblanton/ I will also have my first short story published as an anthology in Heartscapes in a few short weeks.

11 Responses to "A little about me"

Hey Deb, great start to your blog. You are doing great. I haven’t had my blog very long, as you know, but I’m here to tell you that soon it becomes easier, you’ll see, just keep the blogs coming. Now you need to look for followers.

Hey Donna,

Thanks for stopping by and visiting my blog. I have you to thank for the encouragement to be brave enough to start something that I have been prolonging for a very long time. Thank you my friend.

Stop by and visit often.

Ann

Looks like you’re off to a good start! Just signed up to “follow” you! 🙂

Hey Susan,

Thanks for stopping by!

Great, to have you as a follower.

Ann

JOB. WELL. DONE, LIFE IS TO SHORT , NOT TO FINISH GOALS. GIVE ALL YOU HAVE BUT, YOU CANNOT OUT GIVE GOD. LIFE IS WHAT, YOU, MAKE IT, SO, MAKE IT A GOOD ONE .. DR, DAVID DOW P.H.D.

Hey Dave,

Thanks for visiting my blog. I can’t comment enough about what you’ve said, “You cannot out give God”.
Well said and Amen.

I always love to read your writing, Ann. What a great gift you have!!

Hi Mary,

Thanks for visiting. It’s always nice to see you.

IF ALL ELSE FAILS PUT IT IN A BOX AND GOD WILL DEAR WITH IT AT THE RIGHT TIME… AMEN

Hey there Dave,

What a pleasant surprise! I hope to see you here more often.

alway let your heart understand, more than words,can say. and the sprit will feel more than your eyes ,can see, look into thr heart lies the soul. of a person you love. , loving thought for this evening, is, you did not pick god , god pick you, its in the bible, good night .. .

Leave a Reply

