Ann Blanton Let's talk health, fitness, nutrition and everything in between

The best time to exercise

Posted on: July 3, 2012

The Best Time to Exercise

The best time to exercise is the time that’s most beneficial for you. If it’s convenient, stick to a schedule. By doing this, exercise will become a habit and not a chore. Regardless of when you exercise, you’ll accomplish the same benefits.

Many people focus on morning exercise because that’s when their energy level is the highest, they’re well rested, more focused and it jump starts their metabolism and keeps it that way for hours. When your metabolism is elevated, you naturally burn more calories. It also puts you in a positive mood because you’re doing something that’s good for yourself. Exercise in the a.m., is easier for many to make exercise a part of their daily routine.

What do you do if you want to work out, but there’s not enough time to fit exercise into your hectic schedule because of work, school, taking care of the kids or other obligations? I’ll share how I manage to fit exercise into my busy schedule and I hope you pass some of your ideas on to me too. For as long as I can remember, I’ve always been a morning exerciser. Every day at the same time, I tie up my sneakers and workout. Eventually it naturally became a habit. If something unexpected comes up and I can’t get my morning workout in as planned, I try to reschedule later in the day.

Then again, some people prefer to exercise in the afternoon or evening because it’s a good stress buster from all the pressures of the day. Muscles are also more flexible and it’s easier to find a friend to work out with. Plus, your body temperature is at its peak and injuries are less likely.

Exercising in the evening works for many, but be careful because your cortisol levels are at their highest in the evenings, and exercising to close to bedtime can make it difficult to fall asleep.

Everyone has their own opinion what works best for them. So what time works best for you? Are you a morning exerciser like myself, or do you work out in the afternoons or late at night? If you’re an evening exerciser, does it interfere with your sleep habits? If so,  how do you handle it?

I’ve had many articles published at Fitness Plus Magazine. Here’s the link to view them if you want to check them out. http://fitplusmag.com/magazine/author/annblanton/

I will also have my first short story published as an anthology in a book called “Heartscapes”, in a few short weeks.

5 Responses to "The best time to exercise"

Great post, it’s given me a lot to ponder!

I like to go for a jog in the morning followed by a stretching session to help me limber up for the day and get the juices flowing, but I do my main exercise and work out when I get back from work. It can be really difficult to balance exercise with work and personal life, I find that having allotted times for exercise pencilled in my calender really helps!

Hi Pete,

It sounds like you have a very good plan on what time is best suited for you. Keep up the good work!

Hey Deb, I could have sworn I commented here and then I got to thinking about it and I think I commented on your facebook page or maybe it was mine and I thought it was yours. Anyway, it was a terrific post.

I prefer to exercise in the morning but I will drag myself to the gym in the afternoon because I feel so great afterwards.

Keep up the great work, Mare.

Leave a Reply

